The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) began collecting the property tax on registered motor vehicles in September 2013. The new law transferred the responsibility for motor vehicle tax collection from counties to NCDMV. The “Tag and Tax Together” program combines your North Carolina vehicle’s registration fees and property taxes into one renewal notice that is sent to you by the NCDMV about 60 days before your vehicle registration expires. More information is available at the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles “Tag and Tax Together.”
Visit www.ncdot.gov/dmv to pay your registration renewal online.
You may appeal the value of your vehicle to the Halifax County Tax Department within 30 days of the due date. Necessary documentation includes the original bill of sale. If your vehicle averages at least 15,000 miles per year, it may qualify for a high mileage appeal. Each year, you must resubmit high mileage appeals to verify continued excessive driving. Documentation includes a copy of your annual inspection report from NCDMV which records your mileage at the time of inspection. Your request must be received by the Tax Department within 30 days of the due date shown on the bill.
In addition, you may request a proration of the property taxes if you no longer own the vehicle. Proration for any reason requires the Receipt of Tag Surrender issued by the NCDMV along with proof that the vehicle is no longer in your possession or that you have registered the vehicle out of state. Prorations are calculated according to the month in which the license plate is surrendered to NCDMV. There must be at least one full month remaining in the vehicle tax year upon date of surrender. The Tax Department must receive requests for proration and necessary documentation within 12 months of the date the license plates are turned in to NCDMV.
Please call (252) 583-2121 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.